Chickpea nuggets with Sweet Chili Sauce.

I will let you in on a magic trick. Ready? Okay, here goes:

Chickpea flour + boiling water = Nuggets! Yes, I swear!
IMG_1994
I stumbled upon this recipe one late Wednesday night, through a foodie-facebook group, and I got so excited I had to try it there and then. As my boyfriend steps out of the shower a while later I am halfway through the process of a batch of Chickpea Nuggets… (Chuggets?) Thankfully it is a real quick procedure so I did not have to stay awake all that long past my bedtime.

To make the Chuggets (if I say it enough times, perhaps it will stick), one needs:

  • 3 dl chickpea flour
  • garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • a pinch of salt + white pepper
  •  2½ dl BOILING (this is vital!) water
    + sesame seeds for breading, oil for frying

Mix the dry ingredients first, then add the boiling water and leave it to swell for about 10 minutes. Shape into nuggets and then dip into the sesame seeds. Fry on medium heat until they have a golden tone using a good amount of coconut, or other, oil.
Downloads2I also made a batch of Sweet Chili sauce, an improvised recipe including 2 chilies, 3 cloves of garlic, ½ dl vinegar, ½ dl agave syrup and 1 dl water, a pinch of salt and xanthan gum as thickener (corn starch would work better!) First you mix everything apart from the thickener in a blender, bring to a boil over medium heat in a saucepan, reduce heat and let it simmer for circa 3 minutes. Then you add the thickener (1 tbsp corn starch + 3 tbsp water mixed together) and boil for another minute or so.

IMG_1997
Et voila! A perfect go-to recipe when you do not really have a lot of ingredients at home. Flour und water!

One thought on “Chickpea nuggets with Sweet Chili Sauce.

  1. Pingback: My staple foods. | (Chick)peas and understanding.

Leave a Reply

