Vegan Peanut Butter & Chocolate Cheesecake | with Oreo Crust.

IMG_4201
I have such an intense urge to carpe the heck out of my days off. There are so many things that I want to make time for knowing that evenings after I have finished a shift at the cafe I will be in full on zombie mode for the entirety of the evening.

So despite waking up with a sore throat yesterday telling me “mate you should really rest in bed today”, I completely ignored that and went off to town to run a few errands… Buying silken tofu being one of them.

Today I am paying for it, but at least I have this delightful creation below in my freezer which makes staying in the house a little less dreadful.Processed with VSCO with t1 presetI present to you: The Vegan Peanut Butter & Chocolate Cheesecake! (or “a series of close-ups featuring my food processor”)

As I pulled the cake out of the freezer my boyfriend asked whether there is actual cheese in it whereby I basically laughed and said why, of course not! After he had finished his first piece and seemed very approving, I revealed the secret ingredient – silken tofu! I am just not sure Silken Tofu Cake sounds as an equally appealing as a title, but you tell me!
IMG_4181
Crust:

→ 1 pack Oreos
→ 1 tbsp melted dairy free butter/coconut oil

Filling:

→ 349 grams (1 pack) silken tofu
→ 1 dl peanut butter
→ 1 dl coconut cream
→ 1 dl syrup (I used agave)
→ a pinch of salt
→ ½ tsp vanilla paste
→ 50 grams dark chocolate

Topping: 

→ a handful salted + chopped peanuts
→ chocolate sauce (equal parts hot water, sugar + cacao powder)

Downloads19
Downloads20How to:

1. Drain the tofu, by wrapping it up in a few layers of kitchen roll/towel and adding a weight on top to gently press the water out.
2. Start the oven at 175°C.
3. Crush the oreos in a food processor, before adding the melted dairy free butter in there and mix it once more. Place in oven proof dish and bake for about 5 minutes. Once baked, place to cool down in fridge.
4. Once tofu has been drained, add it to a food processor along with the peanut butter, coconut cream, syrup, salt and vanilla paste. Run for a couple of minutes, until you have a smooth paste.
5. Divide the paste into two parts and add your melted dark chocolate in one of them.
6. To layer your cake, spread the chocolate part evenly across your oreo-base and leave to set in the freezer before applying the remains of the paste.
7. Leave the entire cake in the freezer for a few hours alternatively in the fridge over night before serving. Top it off with some chopped salted peanuts and chocolate sauce – not merely to make it look pretty but the combination salt + sweet is divine!! Processed with VSCO with t1 presetProcessed with VSCO with t1 preset

Other things you can make using tofu:
» Green Tofu Quiche with a Chickpea Crust.
» Scrambled Tofu. 

4 thoughts on “Vegan Peanut Butter & Chocolate Cheesecake | with Oreo Crust.

  1. Pingback: Rhubarb & Ginger Vegan Cheesecake | with White Chocolate. | (Chick)peas and understanding.

  2. Pingback: Desserts from the Archives. | (Chick)peas and understanding.

Leave a Reply

