France Day 1 + 2: Vines and Château Pesquié.

IMG_4641The past week’s radio silence has been due to me and Julien travelling to France to visit his parents.

I was a little worried before take off as
a) they hardly speak any English
b) I hardly speak any French, and
c) they seemed to think pate of duck liver is a vegetable

Point C was probably what I had been the most worried about, like you don’t want to meet the “in-laws” for the first time and come across as a fussy eater. However, the real struggle was in the communication! I did not get very far with my school book-French and in all honesty the first few days were super stressful for me, not being able to communicate properly with all these people we met.

The silence did give me more time to take photos though, so wreck yourselves for a few posts loaded with photos. Let’s get straight to it:
IMG_4638
Last Monday, we flew from Aberdeen via Amsterdam. IMG_4633
I passed the flight time beading necklaces out of small stones from Aberdeen beach.
IMG_4635
Around 5pm we finally landed in Marseille, after a 3hour delay in Amsterdam. By then, we had already been awake for about 12hrs as my dear boyfriend seems even crazier than me in terms of “making it in time to the airport”. (We were at Aberdeen airport at 6am, when the flight left around 9…..)
Downloads25IMG_4618IMG_4619
On the Tuesday we went along for a hike with Julien’s mother and two of her friends. Passing through fields of vines and dusty roads.
IMG_4637Downloads24IMG_4640
Living up to their reputation of massive cheese fans, we made two stops on the way back home to both a goat’s and a sheep’s farm. Both had a little farm shop where you could buy their produce.
I was a little overwhelmed by the smell going in there, to me it just smells like rotten milk but that is probably because I am (certainly) not French. Their noses must contain a refining system that makes them think eating smelly cheese is a sane thing to do…
I mean, just look at Mr Depardieu’s crane.
Downloads26
On Wednesday we got into the car to drive to the foot of the mountains…
IMG_4629IMG_4628
… ending up here, at Château Pesquié – a winery run by Julien’s uncle + cousins. They had invited us over for lunch.

I got a delicious carrot tart, pasta with artichokes and for desert we had a lemon curd cake with a strawberry salad drenched in olive oil, lemon juice, a bit of sugar and fresh mint. I will definitely try to copy that into a recipe of my own sometime soon! IMG_4631
There was of course also plenty of good wine.
IMG_4626IMG_4627IMG_4632
IMG_4630
On our way back we made some stops in the villages we had passed by on our way there. I was sat in the car going “This is just ridiculous… This town is ridiculous!” In my book, ridiculous translates into something such as unbelievably pretty. Just look at it!

4 thoughts on “France Day 1 + 2: Vines and Château Pesquié.

  1. Pingback: France Day 3: Medieval Castles and Forest Paths. | (Chick)peas and understanding.

  2. Pingback: France Day 6: Broken bridges & grumpy cats. | (Chick)peas and understanding.

  3. Pingback: Top 12 of 2016 | Most Popular Posts Month by Month. | (Chick)peas and understanding.

Leave a Reply

