Will’s Vegan Shoes: Boots Made For Walking?

screen-captures2
Screenprints from wills-vegan-shoes.com

 


A few months back I decided to give my old doc martens up for adoption. We had had a solid six-or-so years together, but after they had spent the summer months untouched on the shoe shelf in the hallway – autumn was approaching at a rapid pace and I did not quite fancy walking around in boots made from leather any longer. Don’t get me wrong, I am all about wear-and-tear but I figured it was time for a pair of boots more in line with my beliefs.

And so Will’s Vegan Shoes came into the picture. (The picture in this case being my google search field.)

My dream is to bridge the gap between everyday people and ethically produced vegan shoes. Wills is about getting the latest fashions at fair prices, while not hurting animals or people in the process.” – Will Green

Introducing Will’s Vegan Shoes

Around the same time, the shoes pictured in the collage above were introduced into that very hallway shoe shelf. Just before our roadtrip at the end of summer I ordered two pairs from UK company Will’s Vegan Shoes. The shoes are made in Portugal by microfibers that breath and resist water just like leather does. Heck, it even looks like leather! I have indeed gotten a fair bunch of comments pointing out “hey but if you are vegan, why do you stroll around in leather boots?” (by which I of course LOVE to respond with a smug “why they are VEGAN leather boots!”)

So what are the shoes like?

Like with most new shoes, patience is a necessity. (And probably why I am not, nor will ever be, a shoe-kinda-gal. Comfort is queen and I cringe at the slight hint of a beginning blister.) So, alike most boots, it was tough love until I had, as the Swedes say “walked them in”. Although once shaped according to my feet they have been well comfortable. Take it from the girl who walks minimum 1,5hrs back and forth to work each day. These are boots made for walking! 

I am already looking forward to clicking home a pair to wear at work.

Leave a Reply

