Easy Vegan Finger foods for the Festive Season.

dsc_0245So yesterday we covered the drinks, today I will share with you some easy vegan grub with a festive twist. (Alternative title “what Julien and I ate for Christmas Lunch this year with links to other stuff I would also like to eat”.)

We had pretty big plans for the christmas lunch but finally kept it rather spartan, aka we did not roll up me*tballs from scratch or other time consuming project in similar ado. The end of December is stressful enough as it is, especially working in hospitality, so instead it was nice to do a very limited amount of prepping and cooking.

Both thumbs up for this meal. Finger foods rock, my philospohy around this goes something like since everything is small you can eat more – constant munching!


 

dsc_0252
Artichoke and Mushroom Rolls | with sun-dried tomato +  fresh basil.

Originally I only intended to make mushroom and garlic rolls covered in filo pastry, then we found some antipasti items on reduced and thus added in artichokes, sun-dried tomatoes, fresh basil  and parsley too. Winning!

This is super straight-forward, just add your desired fillings on the filopastry sheets, roll it up and cut into suitable size. Drizzle with melted dairy free butter or soy milk before popping in the oven on 200°C for 20 minutes.

→ Alternatively, I would love to make these from HappyFoodbyPetra with spicy vegan chorizo.


dsc_0258

Sweet Potato and Chickpea Wraps with Parsnip & Butternut Squash Puree and Pistachios.

Inspired by Pret’s verry merry xmas baguette, I wrapped little wraps (literally!) filled with pistachios and a puree from parsnip + butternut squash. Also filled with spinach, roasted sweet potato chunks as well as chickpeas roasted in salt, cinnamon, paprika and cummin.

→ Alternatively, try Jamie Oliver’s rice paper rolls with winter vegetables.


Fancy bread with spread.

(+1 for rhyme btw.) Julien insisted on having duck liver pate on the x-mas table (French people *sigh*) so I thought I would get some pate for myself too. I bought a ready made tofu one from Granovita.

→ Alternatively, you can never go wrong with a big batch of hummus or baba ganoush.


dsc_0249
Salad dressed in Hollyhock’s Yeasty Dressing.

First time I made this despite having the recipe bookmarked for.ever. Initial reaction: why have I not made this sooner?? Secondly, a strong desire to drench everything with this creamy fabulousness.

→ Alternatively, I can confirm this cauliflower salad with beluga lentils and juicy dates by GreenKitchenStories is just as divine as it appears.


With that said, I wish you all a marvellous start to 2017! May the food coma be strong! ♥

Leave a Reply

