Vegan at SAS | & the meat norm of in-flight meals.

bild 3SAS cater to a wide range of dietary requirements on their transatlantic and Asia bound flights. Give them 24 hours notice prior to departure to have a meal free from beef, gluten or even honey. Sounds pretty dreamy, eh?

One roll of bread and three types of condiments later

Now I don’t know if it was just as we were flying out of Copenhagen, a city that is generally quite – pardon my French – crap at providing vegan friendly food but thank goodness I had brought a whole bunch of snacks. What I was served on my near 11-hour flight between the Danish and Japanese capitals was rather ridiculous, particularly seeing as they do claim they cater to special diets and I have paid just as much for my ticket as fellow passengers in economy. Should I not receive the same amount of food?

It seemed all they had really done was to take the food items containing animal by-products and replace them with… jam. In different varieties. I mean, kudos for the effort of providing a poor vegan with the choice of different flavour jams but I am yet a little puzzled how exactly it will make my bread roll more filling? (My breakfast is pictured in photo above; while omni passengers were served filled baguettes, yoghurt with granola and a piece of frittata.)

The exaggerated meat norm should not board

And by no means is this a bash particularly aimed at SAS. (In fact, on my return flight from Tokyo the amount (and taste) of food was definitely improved.) In general it puzzles me how flight companies are thinking when planning their menus. The standard when it comes to in-flight meals on offer seems to be a choice between two. Meaning, as some people refrain from eating beef for a range of reasons, the alternative meal option will be something as far fetched as *drum roll* (or should I say drumstick) CHICKEN!

With a growing vegan population, and in regards to the fact that it is suitable for most religious- and dietary requirements, as well as just a more environmentally friendly way to eat — does it not make sense to provide a vegetable meal? Some grainy salads and for the bread roll opt brie for some tub of hummus. It is by no means original. But then again, neither is meat as an alternative to meat.


Until then, my dear special dieters – I reckon we are best off getting one of those bags Hermione carries in the deathly hallows and stuff it with snacks.

First two are outbound meals, third is return flight dinner from Tokyo.

4 thoughts on “Vegan at SAS | & the meat norm of in-flight meals.

  1. I did the same trip today actually. My breakfast was even sadder than yours. I couldn’t bother to take a photo of it. The stewardess said she was so SO sorry, but everything with SAS food is crap and lucky me going to Japan to have fsntastic food. She even repeated this when I left the aircraft.
    They actually gave me a frittata. I opened it, smelled it, looked on the back. Ingredients: mozzarella, egg… WTF!! That’s when I turned to the stewardess and as nice as she was – I was hungry! It doesn’t help me to get another orange juice. I will have to make an official claim. There were people on flight allergic to eggs and they got it too!!

    Like

  2. Haha alltså vilket skämt? OMG. Som om det ens är svårt att hitta något i vegan-utbudet som finns idag, med soygurt, diverse pålägg och typ en oändlig uppsjö av idk, röror som hummus??? Pls.

    Like

Leave a Reply

