Aquafaba Buckwheat Brownies.

IMG_4066
I tend to go through phases where I obsess over certain things, foods in particular. My most recent phase is a brownie making one, which I so far have not had any complaints about in this household. In fact, these brownies are so tasty that me and my boyfriend normally eat them straight from the tin.)

Prior to this obsessive state, my taste buds really craved for some buckwheat flour so that is what I used for my brownies. Now I know it has a fairly peculiar flavor that mightn’t be everybody’s cuppa; however you can easily  sub it for regular wheat flour etc.
IMG_4063
This recipe is one of the gems I’ve found through a Swedish vegan foodie facebook-group and it tastes so similar to our national prime Kladdkaka (Mud cake), but without the butter and eggs. Nor wheat flour in this case…

You’ll need:

→ 1 dl buckwheat flour
→ ½ dl almond flour
→ 4 tbsp cacao powder
→ 2 tsp vanilla sugar
→ a pinch of salt
→ 6 tbsp aquafaba (liquid from a pack o’beans)
→ 2 dl brown sugar
→ 50 g dark chocolate
→ 100 g dairy free butter

Downloads181. Start oven at 175°C.
2. Melt the butter. Drop the chopped up chocolate in there once melted, to let it melt together from the heat of the butter.
3. Combine flours, cacao, vanilla sugar + salt in a mixing bowl.
4. Whisk aquafaba + sugar together.
5. Pour down the butter, followed by the flour mixture, little by little. Do not whisk, just stir.
6. Pour into a breaded (in my case “coconuted”) tin and bake for about 15-17 minutes, until a toothpick comes out sticky but not batter-y.
IMG_4064Ta-daa! With the left over chickpeas you can always make a Buddha Bowl!

Leave a comment